Hapa Izakaya (Kits)


We finished the Grouse Grind earlier in the day. Dana was done in about 1:15 and me? a shameful 1:40… We were supposed to go to the Boathouse near English Bay, however we got a little sidetracked and decided to go adventure! We drove to Kits and ended up at Hapa. It was really sunny that day which was perfect for eating outside on the deck. Problem was it got a little TOO hot… Dana and I were burning up. We started off a tuna + avocado dip + dried yams appy. I can’t remember the name for the life of me, but it was awesome! I remember seeing it on the menu and thought it would be cool to try. The dried yams were very crispy and easy to scoop the dip with. At first we were trying to figure out what the chips actually were, I guess we really didn’t read the menu thoroughly. I honestly thought it was dried banana from the look of it lol. The dip wasn’t too mushy and stayed relatively cool with pretty decent sized chunks of tuna in it. The best part of the appetizer was that they served it with two folded pages of a random manga comic. I still have them laying around somewhere in my room, I thought it was a really cool touch.

For drinks, Dana got the Hello Kitty, which is Vodka, Calpis, strawberry puree and soda. The calpis always gives it a very sticky feeling on your lips after drinking it. I decided to get the Pineapple Lychee Vodka Soda, surprisingly it contains pineapple, lychee juice, vodka and soda! Both were very refreshing, especially on a hot sunny day.


Then came the main dishes, Tuna Carpaccio and Grilled Mackerel, both were very yummy indeed. The waitress fires up the torch and cooks the mackerel in front of you. The tuna was soft, fresh and had a good texture to it, it wasn’t sliced too thin either so that was a bonus. Dana and I both wolfed them down pretty quickly. There was almost not enough of the tuna, but isn’t that always the case? NOT ENOUGH FOOD? Both dishes get mucho points for presentation, I wanted to start eating before the waitress put the plate down :p


We also ordered Yaki Udon, I hadn’t had udon in a long while so I thought it was really good! It’s pan fried with some veggies, along with some soy-dashi sauce and chicken. This is a definite must have! I think I will order it every time we go now because it was sooo good.

Steve!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

